FIAP is organised to support Club photography, and only members of Clubs affiliated to an Operational Member of FIAP may apply for FIAP Distinctions. The PAGB is recognised as the Operational Member for Great Britain and Northern Ireland, with the Scottish Photographic Federation and the The Welsh Photographic Federation also recognised as Operational Members in their own right.

There are nine graded distinctions for photographic merit, which must be obtained in sequence: at minimum on a annual basis. There is a tenth and separate MFIAP distinction.

Anyone interested in the FIAP distinctions must study the whole of this page and the separate page about the FIAP Life Card. Reference documents about the distinctions are provided here by the PAGB FIAP Officer:


Distinctions for: | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015

The Distinctions

Distinctions are available separately for Still images and for AudioVisual. The first two are:

  • EFIAP, AV-EFIAP: Excellence FIAP

The criteria for these two involve achieving specified levels of success in FIAP Patronised Salons. There are many other detailed requirements, including the submission of a portfolio of the applicant’s more successful work, and the need for Salon awards in the case of EFIAP.

The next seven are known as the EFIAP Levels Distinctions. The Levels from Bronze to Platinum are new for AudioVisual from 2018.

  • EFIAP/b, AV-EFIAP/b: Excellence FIAP Bronze
  • EFIAP/s, AV-EFIAP/s: Excellence FIAP Silver
  • EFIAP/g, AV-EFIAP/g: Excellence FIAP Gold
  • EFIAP/p, AV-EFIAP/p: Excellence FIAP Platinum
  • EFIAP/d1: Excellence FIAP Diamond 1
  • EFIAP/d2: Excellence FIAP Diamond 2
  • EFIAP/d3: Excellence FIAP Diamond 3

From Bronze to Platinum, the applicant must have achieved specified numbers of acceptances and awards with work since their first acceptance in a FIAP Patronised Salon. For the Diamond Distinctions, the applicant must have achieved specified numbers of awards from the start of 2015 or from the date of the Platinum Certificate (whichever is later). In all cases, the submission must include a portfolio of photographs that have won awards in different countries.

Copies of applicants portfolios for all the above awards will be retained by the PAGB for potential use in future FIAP Biennial Competitions.


[This section does not apply to members within the Scottish Photographic Federation or the Welsh Photographic Federation, which have separate FIAP Liaison Officers and their own procedures.]

Only one submission of applications is permitted in any one given year, and they must all go in together. The closing date for completed applications to reach the PAGB FIAP Liaison Officer will be 31st March each year.

Due to the high number of applicants, the process starts during the preceding autumn. In August, the FIAP Liaison Officer will publish full details and timetabling here for the forthcoming year’s process, and advertise this via PAGB e-news. Anyone, who has achieved the necessary criteria, will be able to register their wish to apply by following the instructions. There is then plenty of time for everybody to register, and to complete and submit their applications. The application fee will be advised when you register.

MFIAP: Master Photographer FIAP

The tenth and final distinction is recognised as the highest award that FIAP can bestow for photographic merit and, with conditions, is open to those who have held the EFIAP distinction for a minimum of three years.

An MFIAP application in Still images requires a themed portfolio of 20 prints to the most exacting standards. There are separate criteria for the AV-MFIAP Distinction. Applications are assessed individually by the FIAP Directory Board.

Prospective applicants should contact their FIAP Officer (PAGB, SPF or WPF). The application fee will be advised when you enquire.

MFIAP Roll of Honour: PAGB List